Entertainment news, celebrities lifestyle











Home | Make the bookmark




Make Preems.com your start page
































Golden Globe Awards

The Golden Globe Awards are presented annually by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) to recognize outstanding achievements in the entertainment industry, both domestic and foreign.

The Golden Globe Awards are broadcasted worldwide. It is one of the most-watched awards show in the world after the Oscars and the Grammy Awards.

HFPA is a small exclusive club of journalists serving Hollywood motion picture industry. It was founded in 1943 by a correspondent of Daily Mail, the British tabloid.

The 1st Golden Globe Awards (>>>>) were held in January 1944 at the 20th Century Fox studios in L.A.

In 1950, the Hollywood Foreign Correspondents Association merged with the Foreign Press Association of Hollywood.

In 1951, HFPA divided the best film, actor and actress nominees into two categories – drama, and musical or comedy.

In 1952, the HFPA established a special award to recognize outstanding contributions to the entertainment industry. The official name of the award became 'the Cecil B. DeMille Award' because the first one was presented to him.

In 1955, group started using new title, 'The Hollywood Foreign Press Association.'

In 1955, the Golden Globe began honoring achievements in television and film. The first honorees in the Best Television Show category that year were “Dinah Shore,” “Lucy & Desi,” “The American Comedy” and “Davy Crockett.”

Since 1961, the Golden Globe Awards were presented at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

In 2007, the Golden Globe created the category 'Best Animated Feature Film' and the first year nominees were “Cars,” “Happy Feet” and “Monster House.”

Golden Globe Awards categories

Motion picture

Best Motion Picture - Drama

Best Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy

Best Director

Best Actor - Motion Picture Drama

Best Actor - Motion Picture Musical or Comedy

Best Actress - Motion Picture Drama

Best Actress - Motion Picture Musical or Comedy

Best Supporting Actor - Motion Picture

Best Supporting Actress - Motion Picture

Best Screenplay

Best Original Score

Best Original Song

Best Foreign Language Film

Best Animated Feature Film

Cecil B. DeMille Award for Lifetime Achievement in Motion Pictures

Television (awarded since 1956)

Best Drama Series

Best Comedy Series

Best Actor in a Television Drama Series

Best Actor in a Television Comedy Series

Best Actress in a Television Drama Series

Best Actress in a Television Comedy Series

Best Mini-Series or Motion Picture made for Television

Best Actor in a Mini-Series or Motion Picture made for Television

Best Actress in a Mini-Series or Motion Picture made for Television

Best Supporting Actor in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture made for Television

Best Supporting Actress in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture made for Television

Miss / Mr. Golden Globe

year / name / parent(s)

1963 / Eva Six, Donna Douglas

1964 / Linda Evans

1967 / Corinna Tsopei

1969 / Francoise Ruggieri

1971 / Anne Archer / Marjorie Lord and John Archer

1972 / Pamela Powell / Joan Blondell and Dick Powell

1973 / Kelley Miles / Vera Miles

1974 / Linda Meikle John

1975 / Melanie Griffith / Tippi Hedren

1976 / Lisa Farringer

1977 / Nicole Ericson

1978 / Elizabeth Stack / Robert Stack

1979 / Stephanie Haymes

1980 / Kym Karath

1981 / Rosanne Katon

1982 / Laura Dern / Diane Ladd and Bruce Dern

1983 / Lori Leonelli, Rhonda Shear

1984 / Anita Finch

1985 / Lisabeth Shatner / William Shatner

1986 / Calista Carradine / David Carradine

1987 / Candace Savalas / Telly Savalas

1988 / Gigi Garner / James Garner

1989 / Kyle Aletter / Lee Meriweather

1990 / Katharine Kramer / Stanley Kramer

1991 / Kaitlin Hopkins / Shirley Knight

1992 / Joely Fisher / Connie Stevens and Eddie Fisher

1993 / Erin Hamilton / Carol Burnett

1994 / Alex Martin / Whoopi Goldberg

1995 / John Clark Gable / Clark Gable

1996 / Jaime Nicole Dudney / Barbara Mandrell, Freddie Prinze, Jr. / Freddie Prinze

1997 / Kehly Sloane / Linda Grey

1998 / Clementine Ford / Cybill Shepherd

1999 / Tori Reid / Tim Reid

2000 / Liza Huber / Susan Lucci

2001 / Katie Flynn / Jane Seymour

2002 / Haley Giraldo / Pat Benatar

2003 / Dominik Garcia-Lorido / Andy Garcia, A.J. Lamas / Lorenzo Lamas

2004 / Lily Costner / Kevin Costner

2005 / Kathryn Eastwood / Clint Eastwood

2006 / Dakota Johnson / Melanie Griffith and Don Johnson

2007 / Lorraine Nicholson / Rebecca Broussard and Jack Nicholson

2009 / Rumer Willis / Demi Moore and Bruce Willis

2010 / Mavis Spencer / Alfre Woodard and Roderick Spencer

Board of Directors

Jorge Camara, Chairman

Armando Gallo

Theo Kingma

Ruben Nepales

Ali Sar

Frances Schoenberger


President: Philip Berk

Vice President: Hans J. Spurkel

Executive Secretary: Meher Tatna

Treasurer: Jack Tewksbury

Managing Director: Chantal Dinnage

Director, Information Technology: Erkki "Erik" Kanto

. . . .

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association - 646 N Robertson Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069. Email: info@hfpa.org

Public relations: Keleigh Thomas, Ken Sunshine (Sunshine Sachs & Associates) - Tel: (310) 275-3222, email: thomas@sunshinesachs.com

© Preems.com



67th Golden Globe Awards

66th Golden Globe Awards

65th Golden Globe Awards

1st Golden Globe Awards





print | top of this page | previous page
















© Preems.com







Contact us

Preems.com welcomes your thoughts, stories, information








Suggest your story | Share your thoughts